If I were a god

If I were a god,
I would only exert power over my life, my surroundings, and only would I affect another persons life with their permission, to help them. I would spend part of each day going out to heal others, to help lessen their burdens, to help remind them of their strength, to help them see a bright future. I would lay to rest the demons in their minds and bring light to the darkness in their hearts. I would try my best to help them believe, not in me, but in themselves.

If I were a god,
I would protect the people I love and I would not fail them. I would build a fortress of homes in which we could all live sharing with each other and helping one another. All of my loved one’s would always have a place to sleep where they were safe, a place to go when they were sad or confused, a place of refuge and comfort. A place where there is always an extra chair waiting for them at the table. It would be a place where all my loved ones could in turn bring their loved ones. Where as long as there is a bond that is respected and cared for there is a home for that person to turn to. It would be a place of comfort and joy, where we worked together to solve problems and where we found compromise instead of selfishness and inconsideration. Would there be conflict, of course, but there would also be a sense of shared responsibility and respect.

If I were a god,
I would create as many beautiful things as I could. And then I would give them away. Leaving only a small amount for myself. I would have a space where I could let my imagination run wild, and all the things I saw in my mind would manifest and live. It would be a space that I would share with others, who while they were in that space they could too be creators as I was. It would be a place that reminded us all, that there is beauty in all things, and even in something as simple as the mere existence of life.

If I were a god,
I would spend part of each day working to heal the earth. Trying my best to make this place a better place. I would show people the beauty in the world, and their potential to be contributors to it, and I would also show them the consequences of human selfishness. I would never harm them, but I would teach them, in hopes that they will learn to make better decisions in the future. I would teach people that inaction can be just as damaging as action. I would teach them that the mindset of, I do what I want when I want, without thinking of the consequences might not be outwardly malicious but it can be just as damaging. That thoughtlessness and carelessness, are forms of selfishness, and while everyone makes mistakes, there is a difference between making a mistake and having being thoughtless towards others be a lifestyle. A difference that should be both learned and remembered.

If I were a god,

Every night before I went to bed, I would set up an enchantment that protected
all in my house from bad dreams.

I would have a library dedicated to books that are in the middle of being written. Each book would be the life story of a person who I loved and the book would write itself, keeping record of that persons life all the way up until their passing. Then I would give those books to my loved ones next generation, so that their children and their children’s children could celebrate my loved ones life.

I would have charm bracelets for the girls and medallions for the boys, that would respond when one of us was in danger so that the others may help.

I would have a huge wardrobe that we all shared and no material, from clothes to vehicles to luxury items would be owned by any specific person they would be available for all of us. Money would be of no consequence, not because we had a lot of it but because we didn’t use it at all. We would have all that we need and some of what we want and that would be enough. Because more important then any material is the fact that we have each other.

If I were a god, I would work to treasure, nourish, and maintain the happiness and wellbeing of all my loved ones, and then, I would rest.