Those types of moments

Note: This list is of moments that I have experienced and shared with loving, wonderful people. It’s moments of friendship and love, not romance. But great moments all the same. It is a list moments I have experienced throughout life with various cherished friends. A list of how loving men can be. Since  I have been hurt a lot recently I felt like this would be a good reminder to the more gentle gestures I have experienced.

These are moments when good people made me feel important, safe, and loved.

A moment when..

you have a facial expression that both you and your friend do just to make each other laugh. It doesn’t have a set meaning per say, it doesn’t have to, but it does mean one thing, a strong bond among friends.

you are walking down the street and he starts doing the “white boy moves”, dancing like a fool, just to make you laugh.

your in a crowded place and he notices that its important to you that you stick together so he puts the hand on the small of your back to reassure you as you walk through.

he wipes the tears from my face.

he might not be in love with me, we might not be romantic, but he does love me and he treats me like I am precious. He hugs me softly. Kisses my forehead and is gentle, for he knows me, and with him I am always safe.

he lays on the floor next to my bed because he finds it disrespectful to share the bed with me, yet he is closer to me on the floor then he would have been if he got over his formalities.

you fall asleep next to each other and your foreheads touch and he runs his fingers gently through my hair reassuring me that I matter.

you wake up to a friend plopping himself on top of you and rolling around yelling STEAMROLLER.

you stay up for hours, sometimes accompanied by alcohol sometimes not, in deep conversation about life, psychology, spirituality, and philosophy.

you take drives to the water and sit outside and talk about the wonders of life and the visions of your imagination

you go night swimming and get to borrow their over sized t-shirt to sleep in.

he says an inside joke to you just because he knows it will make you laugh.

you can rest your head on his shoulder because he understands how such simple signs of affection bring you such security.

he kissed my hand before leaving.

he picks me up when he hugs me.

he rubs his cheek against mine.

he holds my hand to reassure me.

he stays up talking to me on the phone, even when I’m sad, even when I’m annoying, even when I have nothing important to say, because he loves me.

he reads me poems.

says such kind things to me, so kind it makes tears run down my face, because I never thought someone would speak to me that way.

he knows me better then anyone else, and still loves me.

he tells me I have a lot to offer, and reassures me no matter how someone might be treating me now, there is someone out there willing to treat me better.

he sits with his arm around me, cuddling with me not because he’s trying to get with me but just because he cares about me.

I softly scratch his back as we talk, helping lull him to sleep.

he tells me I’m beautiful.